When it comes to managing your operator panel, there are a few “must know” tools that will make it easy. Getting set up may feel overwhelming, but we are here to turn angst to ease. Once we answer some of the frequently asked questions regarding the functionality, maneuvering through the operator panel should be effortless. Let’s get started on some of those Q & A’s!
Q: What are Operators in relation to Licenses?
A: To keep this simple, you can’t have one without the other. With every operator you have on your panel, a license must assigned.
Q: What are the operators privileges?
A: This will be up to the administrator. When you are adding an operator, ( Admin Panel > My Account > Operators > Add Operator) the admin managing the panel will have the options to select what each operator will have access to and the specific privileges/departments will be based off what the admin assigns.
Q: How to edit/delete/disable an operator, and what is the difference/benefit between deleting and disabling?
A: All functions can be done through your account settings.
One of the primary benefits of either deleting or disabling an operator is that it free’s up a license for use. There are many purposes for both functions, however the goal is to be using every operator effectively.
Disabling an operator is recommended if their absence will be temporary and will be returning to the panel. In turn, deleting an operator is recommended when that particular operator will no longer need further access to the panel.
If you are changing a profile completely ( ex: replacing an operator with another operator), it is recommended that you delete the profile of the previous operator and create a new profile as opposed to editing one already existing. The reason we suggest this route is because with every operator that has been on the panel, they carry a record of their history, via chat transcripts, statistics etc. When you delete an operator the profile is removed from your system, however it leaves behind all history for your reference. We keep all profile’s in our database in cases where the profiles need to be restored.
Q: What Happens to the Tickets that were assigned to a Deleted operator?
A: When an operator has been deleted, the ticket(s) that have yet to be closed will become unassigned. It will then be up to the Admin to designate the remaining ticket(s) to other operators. Again, the only time the tickets will appear unassigned is if they have not been closed. All existing tickets, chat history and statistics of the deleted operator remain stored in Analytics.
Q: Why can’t we choose a username that exists with Live Help Now even though it is not a duplicate within our company?
A: Choosing a username with Live Help Now is much like choosing an email address with gmail or yahoo. Comparably speaking, if you have an email address that is the exact same as someone elses- how will they know who to send the email to? Similarly, thats how it works with Live Help Now. If we have two operators with the same username- when you login- we will not be able to identify which user you are specifically, therefore we risk not collecting the correct data. Running off of a global database and subscribing the amount of operators we do, requires us to ensure an accurate collecting of knowledge, which is why we ask for different usernames. It eliminates the risk that duplicates suggest. The good news is, the username you choose is not customer facing, which means you will simply use it to login to the panel and your customers will never see it.